Programa das Nações Unidas para o Meio Ambiente

Member States

UN Environment is a Member State led organization. Our Member States approve our programme of work and our budget, and they are also the biggest financial contributors to the Environment Fund, our core fund.

In 2012, at the Rio+20 UN Conference, the General Assembly adopted a resolution that reaffirmed and strengthened the governance and role of the UN Environment Programme in the UN system. We went from having a Governing Council of 58 Member States to an Environment Assembly, with universal membership that encompasses all 193 UN Member States.

The Committee of Permanent Representatives with its current membership of 122, provides policy advice to the UN Environment Assembly (our main governing body), contributes to agenda preparation and oversees implementation of adopted decisions.

At the Rio+20 Conference, world leaders also committed to ensure secure, stable, adequate and increased financial resources to UN Environment. Currently, 83 of our 193 Member States contribute financially to our programme.  

In addition to flexible contributions to our core Environment Fund, some Member States have taken the lead by having multi-year agreements with UN Environment. These agreements are designed to promote long-term stability and to strengthen the cooperation between the Member States and UN Environment by implementing programmes consistent with our mandate, that achieve results at the global, regional and national levels. Examples of these long-term agreements with softly earmarked funding are:

  • China Trust Fund
  • Norway Programme Cooperation Agreement
  • Swedish International Development Agency (Sida) Programme Cooperation Agreement
  • UN Development Account
  • US Environmental Protection Agency

Learn more about our bilateral consultations with Member States.